top of page
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Shortt

Monday Story: Frog & Toad

Greetings all-


I hope this post finds you well.


Over the weekend I continued to get my head around how to best facilitate the continuation of Kindergarten. My priority is twofold. I want the children to feel a sense of connection and engagement each day but I do not want to overwhelm you with complicated instructions and home schooling responsibilities.


My thinking at this time, after speaking with many of you on Friday, is that I will continue to post a recorded story or lesson each weekday for the children. Within the recording, (which your child can view at your convenience) I will set the children up with a little task or challenge. We will place a significant focus on investigating the nature and ecosystems around my property.


In addition, each Sunday evening I will post suggested activities for the week. The timetable that I will post is in response to those of you who are hoping for some routine and structured choices for your child each day. On days or weeks that the suggestions don't work out~ go easy on yourself. The health and well-being of your family will remain my top priority!


My suggestions will be based on classroom learning that the children are accustom to as well as online choices which are listed on the 'learning resources' page of this website. You will have the school books that I include in the weekly timetable once you have collected your child's pack-up from the school today or tomorrow.


Please note, in the pack-up that I have ready for you in the school gym I have included a 'sketch book.' This book will be needed for some of our nature activities so please keep it with the other duo-tangs that I have included for you.

Sketch books: Student Pack-ups:




The start of the weekly plans will officially commence April 14th. ( I have made the week plan for the 13th to the 17th but I respect that it is Easter Monday on the 13th, please use your discretion).


If you intend to follow the plans, please prepare for the start date by gaining access to the websites I have detailed on your child's Fresh Grade portfolio:


Raz Kids: personal password listed on your child's Fresh Grade portfolios

Starfall: personal access code listed on our child's Fresh Grade portfolio

Prodigy: personal user name and password listed on your child's Fresh Grade


Please let me know if you run into any barriers getting connected.



Play is the work of a child.

Encouraging your children to create and build and bake and play games and read with you are truly the most impactful and important learning that can be imparted at this time. Embrace the mess!



Take care everyone and please stay home.




70 views
bottom of page